Brief Introduction of IEEE Xi’an Section

       Sparkpluged by Prof. Fan Changxin (Xidian University), Prof. Hu Baosheng (Xi’an Jiaotong University) and Prof. Huang Jianguo (Northwestern Polytechnical University), IEEE Xi’an Subsection was approved by the IEEE BOG on 1999 under the great support from IEEE R10 and IEEE Beijing Section. The first chairman of IEEE Xi’an Subsection was Prof. Fan Changxin, and the second chairman was Prof. Huang Jianguo. During this period, IEEE Xi’an Subsection took in 3 IEEE delegations, sponsored or co-sponsored several international academic conferences, and invited more than 10 famous experts and researchers including the Academician of American Academy of Engineer and IEEE Fellow to give lectures.

       Approved by the IEEE BOG on 2006, IEEE Xi’an Section was established. Chairman of IEEE Xi’an Section is Prof. Huang Jianguo and vice chairman is Prof. Guan Xiaohong. The territory of IEEE Xi’an Section is Shaanxi province, China. IEEE Xi’an Section has 323 members, including 5 Fellows and 24 Senior Members. Most members are famous experts and scientists in the electrical and electronic engineering, such as Prof. bao Zheng (Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciencer) and Prof. Zheng Nanling (Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineer) etc.. IEEE Xi’an Section sets up Executive Committee including 10 members, and sets up 9 committees such as Membership Development Committee, Technical Activities Committee, Awards & Recognition Committee, Educational Activities Committee, and Student Activities Committee and so on. Also 2 students Branches were established in XJTU and NWPU separately.

       Now there is an office in IEEE Xi’an Section dealing with the routines. IEEE Xi’an Section and the office are attached to NWPU.