IEEE Xi’an Section Establishment Ceremony

       On December 13, 2006, the proposal to establish the IEEE Xi'an Section was approved and the section was formally established.

       On June 8, 2007, the IEEE (International Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xi'an Section Inaugural Meeting was held at the International Conference Center of Northwestern Polytechnical University. The conference was chaired by Professor Huang Jianguo, Chairman of the IEEE Xi'an Section and the School of Navigation. Professor Janina Mazierska, President of IEEE Asia Pacific, IEEE Fellow, Director of Electrical Engineering at the University of Connecticut, Professor Peter B. Luh, IEEE Editor-in-Chief of Automation Science and Technology, Chairman of the IEEE China Federation, Zhou Mengqi, IEEE Fellow, Academician of Xi'an Jiaotong University, Academician Zheng Nanning, IEEE academicians, Professor Fan Changxin of Xidian University of Technology and other guests attended the conference. Vice President Weng Zhiwei of Northwestern Polytechnical University also visited the venue and gave a welcome speech. In addition, the Shaanxi Provincial Computer Society, the Shaanxi Signal Processing Society, the Shaanxi Provincial Electronics Society, the Shaanxi Electrical Engineering Society, and the Chairman and Secretary General of the Shaanxi Communications Society also attended the conference. IEEE Hong Kong Section, IEEE Beijing Section, IEEE Shanghai Section, IEEE Chengdu Section, IEEE Harbin Section and IEEE Wuhan Section respectively came to congratulate. At the meeting, the IEEE Xi'an Section Executive Committee was established. Professor Guan Xiaohong from Xi'an Jiaotong University, Professor Zhou Xingshe from Northwestern Polytechnical University, and Professor Li Jiandong from Xi'an University of Electronic Science and Technology and other executive committee members accepted the appointment of IEEE headquarters. After the meeting, Professor Janina Mazierska, Professor Peter B. Luh and Professor Fan Changxin gave wonderful academic reports for teachers, students and IEEE members.

       Professsor Janina Maziersk, Fellow of IEEE and Director of IEEE Region 10, presented in the ceremony.

       Currently, the professional Section of IEEE Xi'an Branch includes Electronic Device Technology Branch (ED) and Signal Processing Technology Branch (SP). Among them, the Signal Processing Technology Branch has been established and is awaiting official documents. The student Section includes the Section of Xi'an Jiaotong University and the Section of Northwestern Polytechnical University.